Please note: Participants in a EU member state (other than Belgium) with a valid EU VAT number or participants from a non-EU member state are exempt of VAT due to VAT reverse charge.

I do not have a valid VAT number:
I have a valid EU VAT number or am from a non-EU member state:

(applicable EU member states are: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia, United Kingdom)

Over 40 hours of teaching across 3 days
Specific tracks for physicians, physiotherapists, psychologists and nurses
Cutting-edge science lectures on hot topics
Interprofessional learning sessions on a range of topics
Interactive learning approaches
Courses modelled specifically around the European Pain Federation curricula

For over 25 years, the European Pain Federation has been bringing together the most recognised experts in the field of pain science to exchange knowledge, ideas and the latest advances in the field. 2020 has been a challenging year, not least of all for education. To meet the needs of the pain community in 2020, the European Pain Federation is organising its first Virtual Pain Education Summit on 6-8 November 2020.

Pain Medicine Educational Sessions

Chronic widespread pain
Cancer-related pain
Acute pain
Pharmacotherapy in chronic pain management
Neuropathic pain
Primers on specific chronic pain conditions
Opioids and chronic non-cancer pain
Chronic visceral pain
Interventional pain management

Physiotherapy Educational Sessions

Pain science and knowledge
Complex and multidimensional nature of pain
Treatment; communication, education
Principles of treatment
Principles of treatment
Special populations
Special populations


Topical Lectures

New directions in the pharmacotherapy of pain
From peripheral nociceptors to brain plasticity
Diabetes and pain: an update
The role of cannabinoid-based medicines in pain management
Neurophysiological exploration of chronic pain; peripheral assessment
Neurophysiological exploration of chronic pain; central assessment
Appropriate referral and selection of patients with chronic pain for neuromodulation

Psychology Educational Sessions

Clinical psychology: Nociceptive aspects
Neuropsychological factors in chronic pain
Assessment: Social and cultural aspects of pain
Assessment: Spotlight on sub-groups
Psychological and social common assessment
Psychological interventions: Behaviour change
Psychological interventions: Work place interventions
Psychological interventions: Behavioural approaches
Psychological interventions: Cognitive

Nursing Educational Sessions

Nursing assessement and measurement of pain
Complex pain management and co-morbidities
Substance dependence and managing pain
Clinical updates: Cancer & cancer survivors
Clinical updates: Children and young people & intellectual disabilities
Clinical updates: Older people
Evidence based pain nursing
Educating patients and professionals
Leadership and advanced nursing practice

~|open with~|material~|solid

Interprofessional Lectures

Neurobiology of pain & strategies to modulate
Communicating pain
Interprofessional working
Managing pain from MDT perspective
Methods of pain prevention

Virtual Pain Education Summit Pricing


Early Fee

Late Fee

Regular (physicians from World Bank High Income Countries and pharmaceutical/MedTech industry professionals)

€ 145

€ 185

Discounted (physicians from World Bank Lower- and Middle-Income Countries)

€ 85

€ 100

Allied Professionals (physiotherapists, psychologists, nurses)

€ 75

€ 95


€ 35

€ 45

 Prices do not include VAT. For European Pain Academy members, early fees remain valid throughout the whole registration period.

Scientific Programme Committee members 

Prof. Dr. Brona Fullen – University College Dublin (Co-Chair)
Prof. Dr. Bart Morlion – Universitair Ziekenhuis Leuven (Co-Chair)
Prof. Dr. Emma Briggs – King’s College London
Ass. Prof. Dr. Morten Høgh – Aalborg University
Prof. Dr. Frank Huygen – Erasmus MC
Prof. Dr. Eija Kalso – University of Helsinki
Ass. Prof. Rianne van Boekel RN, PhD – Radboud University Medical Center

Prof. Dr. Andreas Kopf – Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Dr. Luis Garcia Larrea – Lyon Neuroscience Research Centre
Dr. Mary O’Keeffe – University of Sydney
Prof. Dr. Harm Peters – Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Prof. Dr. Tamar Pincus – Royal Holloway University of London
Prof. Dr. Harriet Wittink – HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht

Here’s what attendees of previous events think: